Apoptygma Berzerk

APOPTYGMA BERZERK were conceived in 1989 by Stephan Groth and Jon Erik Martinsen. In the beginning, they made their mark as a hard-hitting electro-goth-industrial outfit. Their first single ‘Ashes to Ashes’, released in 1991 on the Tatra label, was to be the launching point of their international career, with their first album ‘Soli Deo Gloria’ and the follow-up ‘7’ pushing their sound further.
In early 2000 APOPTYGMA BERZERK resurfaced with ‘Welcome to Earth’, taking them in a new direction. Less aggressive than their early material, this new incarnation was more synth than industrial, planting them firmly on the crest of the Futurepop wave. Continuing in this vein ‘Harmonizer’ added more complexity and pop textures to the mix until in 2005 the band diverged again, this time incorporating rock guitars and more traditional song structures.
That trajectory was maintained until in 2016 APOPTYGMA BERZERK continued their evolution with the release of the atmospheric ‘Exit Popularity Contest’, reinventing themselves yet again with an exciting new sound; different from, but complimentary to, the electro rock futurepop stylings of previous releases.
Always a musical chameleon, Groth pays homage to his roots through emulating the analogue soundscapes of innovators like Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Jean-Michel Jarre, and Vangelis, together with the driving motorik Krautrock rhythms of Neu!, Cluster and La Duesseldorf. All filtered through his own unique Scandinavian sensibility. ‘Exit Popularity Contest’ demonstrates an admirable musical purity and sincerity, channelling the best of the past to forge a path into the future.